DELHI Is Expected To Witness Three Cornered LS Elections Following BJP, Congress & AAP Going Solo

ENDING   speculation on alliance with the Delhi based AAP, INC on April 22, Monday, decided to go it alone for the May 12, Monday, Lok Sabha elections from Delhi.The two parties had several rounds of talks on the proposed alliance in Delhi despite opposition of Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee and former chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and the leaders loyal to her. APP was also insisting on tie-up with the INC in Haryana and Punjab besides Delhi. But the Congress leaders in the two northern states also vehemently opposed such an alliance. As  the deadline  for filling  nomination  is  ending  soon, INC  has  named six  candidates  out of seven  Lok Sabha seats  now retained  by the BJP in Delhi. While Sheila Dikshit will contest from northeast Delhi and her predecessor and former Union Minister Ajay Maken is the candidate from New Delhi which he had earlier represented in the Lok Sabha. Another ex-Delhi Congress chief Arvinder Singh Lovely is the candidate for the East Delhi Parliamentary Constituency. Former Delhi Minister r Mahabal Mishra will contest for the West Delhi seat and senior Congress leader P Agarwal will contest from Chandni Chowk. Meanwhile, Dr Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Science & Technology, has filed nomination papers as BJP candidate seeking re-election from Chandni Chowk Constituency.  Manoj Tiwari, 48, President of Delhi, BJP, will seek to retain North-East Delhi Parliamentary seat. Sheila Dikshit, born in 1938 at Kapurthala, Punjab, has been fielded to take on the Bhojpuri singer –actor turned politician originally from Bihar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.