CONGRESS Wins Three Hindi heartland States Defeating Ruling BJP Governments Before 2019 Lok Sabha Poll

RESULTS of assembly elections held in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telengana have been declared. India’s oldest political party headed by youthful Rajiv Gandhi has defeated the ruling BJP in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan which are considered Hindi heartland. While Congress has decisively won defeating Dr Raman Singh headed Chhattisgarh government for fifteen years, in Madhya Pradesh, BJP government headed by Shiv Raj Singh Chauhan spiritedly fought  against incumbency denying the Congress an absolute majority .In Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, Congress needs support of BSP and independents to form governments. Problems of farmers and unemployment were the main issues which helped the Congress come back to power. In Mizoram, MNF, an ally of the BJP, has ousted Congress. It was the only state in the North-East where the Grand Old party was in power. But the Congress and its ally TDP headed by N Chandra Babu Naidu have suffered a jolt in Telengana as   incumbent Chief Minister K Chandra Shekhar Rao retains power with a thumping majority. KCR led ruling  TRS has bagged 87 out of a total of 119 seats .The Congress and TDP alliance has won 19 seats.

Commenting the results, Prime Minister Narendra Damodardas Modi says victory and defeat are an integral part of life. The results will further our resolve to serve the people and even work harder for socio-economic development of India. Vasundhara Raje, outgoing Chief Minister of Rajasthan, says ” I am proud of development by BJP government headed by her for five years” .Dr Ram Singh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Vasundhara Raje, Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh  MP and Rajasthan have won by landslide margin of votes despite several sitting Ministers losing .

Welcoming the results in the Hindi heartland, the Politburo of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) says , “The defeat of the BJP in the elections to the state assemblies of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, is a clear indication of the people’s discontent and anger at the policies followed by the Modi government and the BJP state governments that have imposed unbearable burdens on the people. These results have shattered the myth of the BJP’s electoral invincibility. Instead of addressing the people’s issues, the BJP governments’ policies had only deepened people’s misery and tried to divert their attention into issues aimed at sharpening communal polarization. The attacks on Muslims and Dalits and the atmosphere of hatred and violence fostered to divide the people have also not succeeded. In Telangana, the TRS has won a sweeping victory while the BJP’s tally of seats has come down. In Mizoram, the MNF has won a decisive victory ousting the Congress government.

The new governments that will be formed in the former BJP-ruled states must respect the people’s verdict and adopt policies aimed at improving people’s livelihood and reducing their miseries. These governments must also ensure that the unity of the people and the integrity of the country are not further damaged by the BJP’s politics of communal polarization.

The Politburo  thanks the people who have voted for our candidates in these elections and hails the victory of two CPI(M) candidates Dungargarh and Bhadra in Rajasthan.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.