KUMARASWAMY Sworn In As CM Of Karnataka With Parameshwara As His Deputy In Presence of Several Leading Opposition Leaders

H D Kumaraswamy, 58, was on Wednesday administered oath by Governor Vajubhai Vala as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka in the presence of several opposition leaders and chief ministers of non-BJP ruled states. They included embattled Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandra Babu Nadu, his West Bengal Counterpart Mamata Banerjee, Kerala  CM Pinyari  Vijayan ,CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, NCP president Sharad Pawar, Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav, BSP President Mayawati.UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and H D Deve Gowda , ex-Prime Minister were also present on the occasion. While Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party has won one seat in alliance with Janata Dal (Secular), Samajwadi Party did not win any seat. Among others, CPI leader D. Raja, and Leader of the Opposition in Bihar Legislative Assembly and son of Lalu Prasad Yadav, Tejaswi Yadav, from Rashtriya Janata Party were also present. Dr G Parameshwara, 67, Pradesh Congress Committee President and ex-Minister, also took oath as the Deputy chief minister of Karnataka amidst BJP observing Betrayal of the People’s Mandate Day across the southern state. Karnataka BJP supreme B S Yeddyurappa, who stepped down as the chief minister of the state within 55 hours of swearing-in, said, “Hunger, greed and power is the basis of JD(S)-Congress alliance, such alliance will not even last 3 months.”The Congress and the JD(S) stitched an unexpected alliance soon after the state threw a fractured mandate on May 15. Of the state’s 34 ministries, 22 would go to the Congress and 12, including the post of the Chief Minister, will be with the JD(S). “No one is unhappy, we all are together. We are celebrating that our government is coming in power. I never said that I’m an aspirant of Karnataka Chief Minister post. All is well,” said Congress leader D K Shivakumar.“We’ve come here to witness swearing in ceremony of Kumaraswamy and express our solidarity to him. In future we’ll work together to protect and promote national interest. We’re here to strengthen all regional parties,” said Chandrababu Naidu and Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee. Kumaraswamy, the State president of Janata Dal (Secular), was sworn in as the Chief Minister back in 2006 when his party had 58 seats. Now, his party has 37 seats in the 224-strong Karnataka Assembly. JD(S) was often described as the potential kingmaker in the run-up to the elections, but the State head of the party is the king. The Congress, which has 78 MLAs on its side, has offered him unconditional support in a bid to stitch together a grand non-BJP coalition as part of its Lok Sabha poll strategy one year later. Meanwhile, Home Minister Rajnath Singh has complimented Kumaraswamy and Dr Parameshwara assuring them of  all cooperation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *