BJP Fields Priiyanka Tibrewal Against Mamata in Bhabanipur By-poll

AS TMC Supremo  Mamata Banerjee filed nomination papers for the September  30 by-poll in Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency on Friday, September 10 to remain, Chief Minister, BJP announced Calcutta High Court Advocate Priyanka Sharma Tibrewal,40, to take on her in the prestigious South Kolkata assembly seat. CM is a resident of the area. The Left Front candidate is Srijib Biswas. The result will be declared on October 3. Banerjee, who lost the election in Nandigram, has to win this by-poll to retain the chief minister’s post before November 5. She had won the seat twice in 2011 and 2016. She had contested from Nandigram in the April-May assembly poll this year against BJP leader and her former protege Suvendu Adhikari and lost. After her defeat in Nandigram, Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, state cabinet minister, who had won the seat, resigned in her favour. Meanwhile, Calcutta High Court has listed to hear a PIL  for hearing on Monday challenging the state’s Chief Secretary’s letter requesting the Election Commission of India for conducting the by-poll. Shobandeb Chattopadhyay had defeated his nearest rival, BJP’s Rudranil Ghosh, by over 28,000 votes. The task before the party now is to surpass this lead in the ensuing by-poll and win by a record margin. However, the Trinamool had trailed in two wards of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) and hopes to take on the challenge for overcoming the deficit this time, said a TMC leader. Edited by PKC 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.