Election Commission of India today announced the polling schedule dates for the General Elections to be held in the states of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry. The commission took into consideration all relevant aspects of climate, exams, festivals and the availability of central police forces before declaring the schedule. The total seats for the Assembly constituencies of Assam is 126 with total electors being 2.32 crores, Tamil Nadu is 234 with total electors being 6.28 crores, West Bengal is 294 with total electors being 7.34 crores, Kerala is 140 with total electors being 2.67 crores and for Puducherry its 30 with total electors being 10 lacs.

As per ECI, Assam will have the elections in 3 phases commencing from 27th March 2021 for 47 constituencies. The subsequent phases will be on 1st April for 39 constituencies and on 6th April for the remaining 40 constituencies. In Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry the election for all 140, 234 and 30 constituencies respectively will be held in a single phase on 6th April. The general elections in West Bengal for the 294 seats will be held in 8 phases commencing from 27th March and the last phase being on 29th April. The other phases being on 1st, 6th, 10th, 17th, 22nd and 26th April 2021. The results for all states will be declared on 2nd May 2021.

The Commission took into consideration the issues relating to COVID-19 and has issued necessary guidelines for conducting the elections. The Commission has decided to extend the poll timing by 1hour in all assembly constituencies except in LWE areas. This year an additional option of Online mode of nomination process has been provided. All necessary paperwork can be done online and their prints may be taken to the Returning Officer for submission.

The ECI has informed accordingly to all State governments about the immediate implementation of the Model Code of Conduct and has appealed to everyone to follow the guidelines strictly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.