SOURAV Ganguly With Jay Shah & Arun Dhumal Set To Lead BCCI After Ending COA Regime

SOURAV Chandidas Ganguly is excited to prove his mettle after he has been elected Mumbai headquartered   BCCI President unopposed.  Board of Control for Cricket in India formed in 1928 is the national governing body for cricket in India. Ganguly, 47  born and grew up in Kolkata ,will be  the  second  personality  from Bengal  to assume the august  office after legendary cricket administrator Jagmohan Dalmia who  helped him  emerge  as a cricketer at the national level. Ganguly is heading the Kolkata based Cricket Club of Bengal (CAB) following Dalmia’s demise. He will quit as CAB President on October 23 after taking over as BCCI chief .Incidentally, one of the most successful Indian Test captains to date, Ganguly on Sunday filled his nomination  papers  accompanied by India’s senior  cricket  administrators  including  Niranjan Shah,N Srinivasan and  IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla. Left-handed Ganguly, who was a prolific One Day International (ODI) batsman, with over 11,000 ODI runs to his credit, is assuming the highest BCCI office to become  the 2nd Indian cricketer after Maharaja of Vizianagaram to serve as the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. Ganguly was the only candidate to file the nomination. Maharaja of Vizianagaram had led India in a Test tour to England in 1936. Despite playing only 3 Test matches for India, the Maharaja of Vizianagaram A K A Vizzy served as BCCI president between 1954 and 1956.Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar and Shivlal Yadav had also served as interim BCCI president in 2014.The BCCI elections were scheduled to be held on October 23 but with Sourav Ganguly being the only candidate to file his nomination for the top post of Indian cricket, he is set to be elected unopposed. A consensus between the state units of BCCI was built during an unofficial meeting last week. Ganguly was unanimously accepted as the presidential candidate by the representatives of the state units. Sourav Ganguly, however, will be able to remain BCCI president until September 2020 as per the Supreme Court appointed Lodha Committee recommendations. After   10 months, three-year cooling-off period will begin. Ganguly has been associated with the Cricket Association of Bengal as an administrator the past five years. A cricket administrator can only serve for six years in one term. Meanwhile, Jay Shah, son of Home Minister Amit Shah will be the new secretary while Arun Dhumal will be the new treasurer. Dhumal is the younger brother of Minister of State for Finance and former BCCI president Anurag Thakur. New office bearers will assume office ending a 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators (COA). Incidentally,  he has  gone on record  saying  his first  priority will be to look after first-class cricketers.(edited by Pranab Kumar Chakravarty  with  courtesy to Cricket Next for image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *