With the arrival of all teams, UAE Cricket Board is ready for 2020 IPL

IPL's new logo released Ahead of the Tournament

ENDING uncertainties, all the eight teams have reached the UAE for the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020  set to begin on September 19. Players will remain quarantined in separate hotels and undergo COVID-19 tests.  The tournaments final is scheduled to be held on November 10. IPL 2020 is likely to be played at three venues in Dubai. IPL will be held in UAE for the second time after a few matches of IPL 2014 were played in  UAE due to the Lok Sabha elections in India. The stadium, which was formerly known as Dubai Sports City Cricket Stadium, is a multi-purpose stadium that is mostly used to organise cricket matches. With a capacity of 25,000 spectators (expandable to 30,000 spectators), the stadium has hosted all three formats of the game. However, the upcoming  IPL will be played minus spectators as part of the protocols to combat COVID -19. The teams are Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals. The 2019 Indian Premier League Final was played between Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians on 12 May 2019 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.  Mumbai won the match by a single run and claimed their fourth Indian Premier League title. Image source from iplt20.com.edited by PK Chakravarty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.