Arif Mohammed Khan is among the 4 Guvs appointed by Prez: Kalraj Mishra Transferred from HP to Rajasthan.

PRESIDENT Ram Nath Kovind on Sunday, August 31, appointed four new governors and transferred one of the Governors. Among them is former Congress Minister Arif Mohammed Khan. Arif Mohammed Khan had quit the Rajiv Gandhi government in protest against the enactment of a law to nullify the Supreme Court verdict in the Shah Bano Case. He will be Governor of Kerala.  Khan’s speech in Parliament in 1985 in the wake of the Shah Bano judgement allowing divorced Muslim Women maintenance allowance was initially endorsed by the Rajiv Gandhi government. However, when the Rajiv Gandhi government did a U-turn under alleged pressure from Muslim clerics and brought a bill to nullify the Supreme Court order, he resigned from the ministry. The Uttar Pradesh politician later joined the BJP but remained inactive since 2007.Recently, when the Modi government brought a bill to criminalize the practice of instant Triple Talaq, Khan supported it. Sixty-eight-year-old Khan, who replaces former Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam in Kerala Raj Bhavan, is a vocal critic of the practice of instant Triple Talaq and supports reforms in the Muslim personal laws for many years. He was educated at Jamia Millia School, Delhi, Aligarh Muslim University   and Shia College at   Lucknow. Governors have been also appointed for Maharashtra, Himachal, Pradesh, Kerala, Telangana and Rajasthan. Former Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who was recently appointed the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, has been transferred to Rajasthan. Seventy-eight-year-old Mr. Mishra will succeed former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Kalyan Singh, who completed his five-year tenure as the Governor of Rajasthan.Former Union Labour Minister Bandaru Dattatraya, 72, has been appointed as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, replacing Mr. Mishra. Koshyari replaces Vidya Sagar Rao as the Maharashtra Governor, while Ms. Soundararajan will succeed ESL Narasimhan as the Telangana Governor.

BJP leader and former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshyari, 77, has been appointed the Governor of Maharashtra, while BJP’s Tamil Nadu chief Tamilisai Soundararajan, 58, moves to the Raj Bhavan in Telangana, according to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *