BCCI Discriminates Between Male & Female Cricketers Under New Contract System From October 2017 To October 2018: Woman Top Players Will Get 50 lakh INR Each Compared To 7 Crore INR To A Plus Male Cricketer

Mumbai headquartered Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finalised a new contract system for cricketers aiming at substantially enhancing their annual fees. They will earn much more than now after it is implemented. As per the new grading system Grade A+ players will receive 7 crore INR Grade A players get 5 crore INR, Grade B get 3 crore INR and Grade C players will be given one crore INR each. Kohli along with Rohit Sharma, Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah have been put in the new A+ contract by the BCCI.The biggest winners from the just announced list are India skipper Virat Kohli and opener Shikhar Dhawan. Kohli received a pay hike of 250 per cent while Dhawan got a mindboggling 1,300 per cent hike. Dhawan was upgraded from last year’s Grade C to a newly-introduced Grade A+. Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been relegated to the second tier called Grade A. However, he is not loser monetarily as his fee is being hiked by as much as 150 per cent despite not being treated at par with Kohli, Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Burmah who played under his captaincy. Rohit also received a 600 per cent pay hike as he was also part of the new Grade A category. Senior off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is now in the A category. Only promising youngster who is yet to be put in any category is Mohammed Shami. On receipt of complaint of Hasin Jahan, spouse of the cricketer from Bengal, of domestic violence, The Committee of Administrators –COA— has deferred taking any decision about his remuneration..BCCI has given Grade A contracts to seven players – Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha besides Dhoni . Saha, wicketkeeper cum batsman from Bengal, gets a 500 per cent hike. The players in Grade A+ will be paid 7 crore INR each, while INR 5 crore will be paid to the Grade A players. BCCI says in a statement that the COA has opined that the performance and position of Indian Cricket needs to be recognised with the fee structure comparable to the best in the world. KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma and Dinesh Karthik have been placed in the B Grade. They will be paid INR 3 crore each. Among the players in Grade C are Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav. These players will be paid Rs. 1 crore each. Last year, the contracts were divided into three categories, A, B and C. Grade A players received 2 crore rupees, Grade B received 1 crore rupees and Grade C got 50 lakh rupees. For the domestic cricketers , the first XI among  will now get INR 35,000 per day in a four-day game making their match fees increase from INR  40,000 to INR 1.40 lakh per match. Besides, TV rights will make their per match fee go up to Rs 3 lakh per match. World Cup woman cricketers Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana have been kept in the top bracket with an annual contract of INR 50 lakh each.”The CoA recognises that the actual income of the BCCI fluctuates on an annual basis depending on the number of home matches Team India (Senior Men) plays.”Hence, to insulate the player compensation, the CoA has sanctioned the creation of a ‘Players Revenue/Compensation Equalisation Fund’ (PR/CEF) to which the BCCI will contribute approximately Rs 125 crore per annum from its surplus,” the BCCI said.(Image courtesy : DD)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *