BJP Sweeps Tripura Local Body Polls

RULING BJP has registered a landslide victory in Agartala Municipal  Corporation and all other Nagar Panchayats and Municipalities in Tripura by defeating the TMC and the Left. BJP has wrested the  51 -Member   Agartala Municipal Corporation from the Left by winning all the seats contesting against the Left and the Kolkata-based TMC. Kolkata news channels claimed that TMC candidates had polled the second-highest percentage of votes in 18 wards and CPI-M  candidates were runners-up to BJP  in 17  wards in AMC elections. There are altogether  334 seats in the urban local bodies, including Agartala Municipal Corporation (51 wards), 13 municipal councils, and six Nagar panchayats in the state. Counting of votes for 222 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation and other civic bodies for which polling was held on Thursday, November 25 was conducted today in 13 centres across the state on November  28. The remaining seats have been won uncontested by the BJP. TMC has moved the Supreme Court of India pleading for countermanding the polling alleging harassment of its leaders and other activists by BJP  and apprehending no free and fair elections. The SC has directed the state government and the State Election Commission to ensure free and fair elections and provide security to the candidates and the electorates. The case is pending. Results of the General Election to the Municipal and Nagar Panchayat for 6 Nagar Panchayats, 7 Municipal Council and the Agartala Municipal Corporation were announced by SEC.TMC and CPI-M have won one seat each in the Ambasa Nagar Panchayat which will be ruled by the BJP.    BJP has fielded candidates in all seats in the Tripura civic elections. According to a senior police official, apart from the scheduled security deployment, Tripura State Rifles and the central armed police force have been deployed for the maintenance of law and order in areas adjoining the counting centres. BJP spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharya has said the party has asked its workers to maintain discipline. “Party Karyakartas were asked to follow the organisational tradition after the announcement of the results,” Bhattacharya said in a statement. The Trinamool Congress has demanded that the elections should be declared invalid, alleging they were “heavily rigged and reduced to a farce” by the ruling BJP. The CPI(M) has also demanded the same in five wards of AMC. Over  75.04% turnout was recorded till 4 pm on the polling day. Congratulating the People of Tripura, BJP National Vice President Dilip Ghosh said “Humbly extend my gratitude to the people of Tripura for giving us the right mandate to stop TMC’s smear campaign & keeping faith in BJP’s model of Governance. Heartiest congratulations to our brethren of BJP workers from Tripura”. Edited by PK Chakravarty. image courtesy: TOI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.