BSY Wins Trust Vote In Karnataka to Remain CM: Speaker Resigns

As expected, BS Yediyurappa, who was appointed Karnataka Chief Minister on Friday, July 25 by Governor Vajubhai Vala following the collapse of the JD-S- Congress dispensation, on Monday, July 29 won trust vote in the state legislative assembly by  a voice vote. The Finance bill presented to the House by the previous government was also approved today after trust vote. Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar has resigned. He had disqualified as many as 17 MLAs-three belonging to the JD-S and the remaining to the Congress.CM has appointed a new Advocate General following resignation by the JD-S- Congress government appointed AG. Yediyurappa is expected to vist Delhi for consultation of his new council of ministers. In Karnataka, the size of the ministry must not exceed 34 including Chief Minister.

During debate on confidence moved by Yediyurappa,

Congress leader Siddaramaih said the people’s mandate in the last  assembly elections was  in favor of BJP  to form  government. Speaking in the assembly ahead of the trust vote, BSY said he believed in “forgetting and forgiving” and would not practice politics of vengeance. Reacting to the result of the trust vote, Congress leader Siddaramaih says, “BJP will not be able to complete full term as they are dependent on those who have lost all morals. This government is nothing but unconstitutional and immoral. When B S Yediyurappa took the oath, half way mark was 111 but how on Earth did they show numbers to the governor.” After winning the trust vote,CM Yediyurappa says in a tweet, “Winning the trust vote is, taking one more step closer towards a stable and strong administration. Will uphold the trust by ensuring transparent and accountable governance. I would like to thank the citizens, MLAs and each and every BJP Karyakartha for the trust placed in trust in me.”
Currently, there are 105 BJP members supported by an Independent. Both Congress and JD(S) have 100 members in the 225-member House. The majority mark stands at 104, after 17 MLAs were disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *