CM Mamata Banerjee Reshuffles Her Cabinet

Bengal Chief Minister MAMATA Banerjee has inducted nine new faces in her Council of Minister amid some ruling party lawmakers facing probe for amassing wealth through illegal means  by central agencies at the direction of Calcutta High Court. The MLAs administered oath office by Governor La Ganesan at Raj Bhavan on August three   as   Cabinet ministers are Babul Supriyo, Snehasis Chakraborty, Pradip Mujumdar, Partha Bhowmick and Udayan Guha. Ministers of State with independent charge are Birbaha Hansda and Biplab Roy Choudhury. Tajmul Hossain and Satyajit Barman have also taken oath as ministers. Tribal leader Birbaha Hansda took oath in Santali language. The reshuffle was necessitated due to demise of Subrota Mukherjee and Sadhan Pande and sacking of Partha Chatterjee. Chatterjee is in ED custody for multi –crore cash for school job scam. He was   entrusted with several important ministries like industries and parliamentary affairs. Dismissing media reports about a major reshuffle of her Council of Minister, CM Mamata said earlier ‘’it will be a chhotto reshuffle. Services of some existing Ministers will be utilized for   organizational activities, she added. Meanwhile, keeping panchayat elections in mind, TMC underwent a major organizational overhaul on Monday as the leadership of 16 out of the 35 organizational districts were changed. ‘’The imprint of Abhishek Banerjee’’, MP, considered as the number two in Ruling  party was evident in the reshuffle in which several “non-performers” were axed, and some were relieved of organizational duties paving their way for ministerial berths, says  The Telegraph. Picture courtesy :wion. Edited by PK Chakravarty


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *