LONG Awaited Karnataka Cabinet Expanded

LONG Awaited Karnataka Cabinet ExpandedChief Minister BS Yediyurappa headed Karnataka Cabinet was on Tuesday, August 20, expanded with the induction of 17 MLAs. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered of oath to them at Raj Bhawan after 20 days since formation of the government following the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) coalition. Among  those who were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala were Govind Karajol, Ashwath Narayan C N, Laxman Savadi, K S Eshwarappa, R Ashoka, Jagadish Shettar, former Chief  Minister  and Speaker, B Sreeramulu and S Suresh Kumar,V Somanna, C T Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, Kota Shrinivas Poojari, J C Madhu Seamy, C C Patil, H Nagesh, Prabhu Chauhan and Shashikala Jolle Annasaheb.This is the first-ever expansion of Yediyurappa’s ministry after he assumed office on July 26 and proved his government’s majority on the floor of the Assembly on July 29.

Having run the government with a “one-man cabinet” for over 20 days, the chief minister had on Saturday got the nod from BJP national president Amit Shah to expand the cabinet. The chief minister had sent a list of 17 ministers to be inducted into the cabinet to the governor, requesting him to administer the oath to them.

The opposition Congress and the JD(S) had earlier hit out at the BJP over the delay in cabinet expansion and had raised questions about government’s “existence”. The 76-year-old BJP veteran had run a “one-man cabinet” battling devastating flood impacting normal lives of millions of people. Over 80 people have died in flood related incidents.Criticising the ruling BJP for its one-man government, the Congress alleged that the administration resembled President’s rule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.