PRESIDENT Presents Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards

President of India Ram Nath Kovind  presented the outstanding   Parliamentarian Award for the years 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016  and 2017 on  Dr. Najma A. Heptulla, former MP(RS);  Hukmdev Narayan Yadav, MP (LS),  Ghulam Nabi Azad, MP (RS); Dinesh Trivedi, MP (LS) and Bhartruhari Mahtab, MP (LS), respectively, at a function held in the Central Hall of Parliament House on Wednesday The President, Vice-President and Chairman, Rajya Sabha, M. Venkaiah Naidu;  Prime Minister  Narendra Modi; Speaker Lok Sabha Smt. Sumitra Mahajan also addressed the distinguished gathering on the occasion. Congratulating all those who were conferred with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award, Ram Nath Kovind said that as parliamentarians each one of them has added value to the proceedings of the House.  They have done so while maintaining the dignity of Parliament, using their knowledge and wisdom. Shri Kovind emphasized that dignity in discussion and debate, wit and repartee – these qualities in members of Parliament are inspirational for our young people. Shri Kovind said that MPs are not just representatives of a particular party or constituency; they are the trustees of our constitutional ideas.  Therefore, the people, especially the poor and the underprivileged, look upon their representatives with great expectations.  They nurture the expectation that their representatives would make every effort to improve their lives and those of their children.  And for this reason they want to see their representatives busy and relentlessly at work for the welfare of common citizens. Shri Kovind felt that to meet the expectations of the people is the touchstone we must use to judge the efficacy of the parliamentary system.  Vice President and Chairperson Rajya Sabha Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu said that conferring of awards on five finest parliamentarians would motivate not only the other members of Parliament but also the members of State Legislatures to set new benchmarks of exemplary parliamentary performance and conduct.  V P  Naidu hoped that this occasion would provide an opportunity for some introspection on the issue of disruption of the proceedings of the House, which has created a negative perception about the members and the functioning of our parliamentary institutions. He exhorted that parliamentarians may belong to different political parties and pursue different ideologies but the common goal is to make India a strong, stable and prosperous nation and ensure that the fruits of development reach the last person in the line. Complementing the awardees, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that Members of Parliament come from the grassroots and are connected with the common people.  They should have sufficient opportunity to articulate their views so that the government is forced to accord priority to their ideas.  The voice of the people belonging to even the far-flung areas – villages and forests – should reach the government through MPs in such a way that the government becomes duty bound to incorporate the aspirations of the people in its plans and programmes.   Shri Modi expressed concern that disruptions and din in Parliament harms not only the work of elected representatives but also are a great loss to the nation.  Outlining the importance of constructive participation of MPs in the proceedings, PM  Modi said that it is not easy to get elected as people’s representative and, as such, each word of an MP becomes immortal since it reflects the aspirations of the people It is, therefore, our duty to create a situation in the House where MPs are in a position to participate, criticize and scrutinize the functioning of the government.   In her welcome address, Lok Sabha Speaker  Sumitra Mahajan said that Outstanding Parliamentarian Award  instituted by Indian Parliamentary Group (IPG) is being conferred on such Member of Parliament who has set high standards of parliamentary traditions and conduct as legislators.  She lauded the fact that five eminent parliamentarians are being included in this list of the distinguished members  who have left  an indelible  mark on the proceedings of this sacrosanct institution  .

Mahajan said that Dr. Najma Heptulla has contributed extensively to enrich the parliamentary practice and procedure as the Presiding Officer of Rajya Sabha.  She has also shown her exemplary diplomatic and administrative skills at national and international fora. Appreciating Hukmdev Narayan Yadav’s distinctive style of speaking and incisive arguments in parliamentary debates, Mahajan said that he is a committed and popular leader who articulates the aspirations of the common man with his powerful oratory.

Observing that Ghulam Nabi Azad is an experienced and mature politician,. Mahajan said that his political understanding, practical knowledge and experience commands respect from both the Treasury and Opposition Benches Mahajan further said that Dinesh Trivedi is known as a sincere and enlightened parliamentarian and his presentation and serious arguments on the floor of the House reflect high standards of parliamentary debates. Talking about the political carrier of popular and affable  Lok Sabha Member from Odisha  Bhartruhari Mahtab, Mahajan said that his scholarly speeches and participation in discussions and debate on different issues in Lok Sabha put him in the category of outstanding parliamentarians who present  their views succinctly.  Mahajan said that democratic system is the most refined form of governance wherein discussions, debates and dissent nurture our democracy.  We should, however, understand that debate and discussion should be within the Lakshmanrekhaof accepted norms and dignity of Parliament.  She emphasized that it would enhance the confidence of the people in our democracy. In their acceptance speeches, the awardees – Dr. Najma A. Heptulla,  Hukmdev Narayan Yadav,  Ghulam Nabi Azad,  Dinesh Trivedi and i Bhartruhari Mahtab – recounted their political journey and thanked IPG for having selected them for the coveted award. Secretary-General, Lok Sabha Smt. Snehlata Shrivastava read the citations of the awardees. The Outstanding Parliamentarians Award is a recognition conferred upon the finest parliamentarians for their constructive and meaningful contribution to the parliamentary process, upholding the dignity of the House and setting exemplary precedents. In 1992, the Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant Memorial Society took the initiative to honour such parliamentarians for their exemplary service to our parliamentary democracy.  From 1995 onwards, the Indian Parliamentary Group (IPG) started conferring the ‘Outstanding Parliamentarian Award’ every year to a sitting member of Parliament on the recommendation of an Award Committee and approval of the Executive Committee of the Indian Parliamentary Group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *