Shiv Sena President Uddhav Bal Thackeray on Thursday, November 28 took oath as chief minister of Maharashtra ending political stalemate   on government formation since assembly results were declared on October 24.He is heading the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (MVA) comprising Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena and Congress. After taking oath, Uddhav Thackeray expressed his gratitude to the gathering and the Maratha warrior Shivaji Maharaj. Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut also administered oath as Ministers by Governor Bhawat Singh Koshiyari at the historic Shivaji Maidan where the Bala Saheeb Thackeray launched Shiv Sena in 1966 and now it   his resting place along with his wife who predeceased him. The BJP has emerged as the single largest party winning 105 seats. The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats respectively in the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly.NCP’s Praful Patel said the state cabinet ministers would be announced in the coming days The ceremony was attended by his cousin and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray, DMK chief MK Stalin and party leader TR Baalu, Congress leader Ahmed Patel, NCP leader Praful Patel, and BJP leader and former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, among others. Uddhav Thackeray later held the first Cabinet meeting of the new alliance government. Earlier in the evening, the alliance released its common minimum programme (CMP) — despite the reported disagreement over the inclusion of the term “secular” in the document, the alliance promised to uphold the secular values as enshrined in the Constitution. The Sena reportedly had concerns that it could alienate its Hindutva vote bank, but “secular” appears twice in the preamble of the CMP itself. Uddhav Thackeray, 59, is the first chief minister of Maharashtra from the Shiv Sena after 20 years. Industrialist Mukesh Ambani, along with wife Nita and son Anant were among those attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.