TARAK Mehta Ki Ooltah Chashmah Completes Nine Years As A Popular TV Sitcom

SAB TV show, Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah, which has recently lost actor Kavi Kumar Azad playing the role of Dr Hansraj Haathi, retains   popularity despite being on air for the past nine years. The show is based on the column penned by journalist Taarak Mehta  for  a Gujarati magazine relates  predicament of  several middle class  residents  living  in the  same  housing  society. They are friendly, emphatic and cooperative with each other but in a soup very often for lack of presence of mind bringing smile on the face of viewers.  Azad who will be remembered as Dr Haathi passed away after the team had celebrated completion of 2,500 episodes. Taarak Mehta is also the longest running Indian sitcom and has entered the Limca Book of World Records for being a popular sitcom among the viewers. Viewers are gladdened that Disha Vakani has come back. She is popularly known by her screen name Dayaben. She was on a long maternity leave after blessed with a baby girl.She herself announced on Instagram page about her rejoining the show. Tarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah is stated to be the third longest Indian TV show.  C.I.D. remains the only detective-crime show on Indian television since 1998. Ekta Kapoor’s  Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi was aired  for eight years from 2000 on Star Plus  made Smriti Irani a household name and it helped her parachute into politics  besides  establishing  Ekta Kapoor, daughter of Bollywood’ matinee idol Jitendra,  as a successful  TV serial maker. Kasautii Zindagii Kay, also made by Ekta Kapoor, helped Ronit Roy emerge as a TV personality. Kasautii was aired for seven years on weekdays on Star Plus starring Shweta Tiwari, Cezzane Khan  besides  Ronit Roy in pivotal roles. Balika Vadhu was recently taken off air after being on air for eight years. Set in rural Rajasthan, the show’s storyline revolved around protagonist Anandi’s journey as she fought against the custom of child-marriage and other evils. (Courtesy to India Today for inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *