Union Council of Ministers Expanded, 43 NDA Leaders Inducted

KEEPING in view upcoming assembly poll in five states, including the country’s most populous state Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister  Narendra Modi has reconstituted his council of ministers. Fair representation has been given to women and disadvantaged sections of society. A total of 15 Cabinet Ministers and 28 Ministers of State was sworn in by President Ramnath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhawan on July 7. The new set of India’s Council of Ministers has been chosen with an emphasis on representation, experience and education. The Cabinet Ministers are  Sarbananda Sonowal, Jyotiraditya M Scindia, Narayan Tatu Rane, Dr. Virendra Kumar, Ramchandra Prasad Singh, Ashwini Vaishnav, Pashu Pati Kumar Paras, Kiren Rijiju, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh Mandaviya, Bhupender Yadav, Parshottam Rupala, G. Kishan Reddy, and Anurag Singh Thakur. Four MPs from West Bengal, I from Tripura are among the 28 Ministers of State. They are Pankaj Choudhary, Anupriya Singh Patel, Dr. Satya Pal Singh Baghel, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Shobha Karandlaje, Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Meenakshi Lekhi, Annapurna Devi, A. Narayanaswamy, Kaushal Kishore, Ajay Bhatt, B. L. Verma, Ajay Kumar Chauhan Devusinh, Bhagwanth Khuba, Kapil Moreshwar Patil, Sushri Pratima Bhoumik, Dr. Subhas Sarkar, Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad, Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar, Bishweswar Tudu, Shantanu Thakur, Dr. Munjapara Mahendrabhai, John Barla, Dr. L. Murugan, Nisith Pramanik. After dropping several key ministers,  PM Modi has given fair representation to talented ladies and socially and economically disadvantaged sections of the society.  President of India Ram Nath Kovind accepted the resignation of 12 members of the Council of Ministers including IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank and others. Among them are who quit include DV Sadananda Gowda, Thaawarchand Gehlot, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Babul Supriyo, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Rattan Lal Kataria, Pratap Chandra Sarangi and Debasree Chaudhuri. The number of lawyers, graduates, etc put together in this cabinet is actually an indication that PM Modi not only wants to push young people, but also select people on the basis of merit & not their families said a political analyst on Times now. Health Minister Dr. Harsh Vardhan’s resignation is an acknowledgment that the govt has failed or has not delivered what was expected of it during the Covid-19 pandemic, opined Delhi’s ruling AAP. The resignations of the Union health minister and the MOS health is a candid confession that the Modi government has utterly failed in managing the pandemic, said Senior Congress leader P Chidambaram. Edited by PKC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.