2019 WC: ENGLAND & New Zealand Face off on Sunday For The Coveted WC

MILLIONS   of cricket enthusiasts, who can’t be physically present at Lord’s, the 205 years old  iconic stadium in London, on July 14, will  remain  glued to TV channels to watch the finale of the 12th ICC sponsored  Men’s World Cup between host England  and  New Zealand . The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) owned Lord’s, which the venue was for 2012 Olympics having 30,000 capacities, is considered Mecca for cricket and every cricketer aspires to play the gentlemen’s game there. The original Lord’s ground may be recalled was founded by Thomas Lord in 1787 and is 1.5 km away from the current venue. He was a professional English cricketer who played first-class cricket for five years from 1787.He was associated with Middlesex and with Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) as a ground staff bowler. England defeated defending champion Australia and New Zealand beat India in the semi-finals for storming into the final.  The prized tournament held every four years remains elusive to both of them. It is the second successive world cup final for New Zealand, considered underdog in the cricket world. In 2015 WC, Australia became champions defeating New Zealand. This is the 4th time England entered the final of the cricket world cup.  England had last played the final in 1992  but was defeated by Pakistan. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won the World Cup in 1992 and 1996 respectively. England is the only country which lost 3 finals and hosted the world cup 5 times. Australia lifted 5 World Cups for ODI. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011 and West Indies won in 1975 and 1979.Pakistan won only one WC.The first ICC cricket World Cup for men was played in England in 1975.  West Indies won the both initial world cups held in 1975 and 1979. Eoin Morgan, England’s Captain and his New Zealand’s counterpart Kane Williamson have the chance to become national heroes by leading their teams to World Cup glory for the first time. England have enjoyed a dramatic revival in fortunes since their limp first-round exit in 2015 with Morgan at the helm, infusing his side with a fearless approach.Williamson, whose team lost heavily to England in the group stage, tried to keep his players calm after New Zealand’s stunning victory over India in the first semi-final .Indians will be happy to know that the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup, will be hosted by India from 9 February to 26 March 2023. This will be the first time the competition is held completely in India. Three previous editions were partially hosted by India in 1987, 1996, and 2011. A total of ten teams participated in 2019 WC for Men’ Cricket hosted by England and Wales from  May 30.In the first round of tournament, England , Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and West Indies play against each other(edited by Pranab Kumar Chakravarty).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *