ASIAN Games: India Beat Pakistan To Win Bronze In Men’s Hockey: Amit Panghal Clinches Boxing Gold

India end the  18th Asian Games  in Indonesia with a total of 69 medals and 15 Golds and are likely to finish in the eighth spot among the  49 nations  in the medal’s tally. This was India’s best ever performance in the Asiad which is held every four years since 1951 when the first multi-national games was organised in Delhi. : India on Saturday won two Gold medals from Boxing and Bridge. Boxer Amit Panghal from the Indian Army won his first gold medal stunning the Olympic champion Hasanboy Dushmatov while, Pranab Bardhan and Shibn. In pic,  The Indian women’s squash team which  finished second best to a clinical Hong Kong in the final, settling for successive silver at the Asian Games . The women’s hockey team    lost to Japan 1-2 in the final despite being favourites for gold. The Indian women’s hockey team failed to break its 36-year-old gold jinx. The loss will hurt the Indians badly as gold would have guaranteed a direct qualification in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.But it was still a step up from the bronze that came in the 2014 edition. The highlight of the day was the sailing performance, India’s best showing. Varsha Gautham and Sweta Shervegar claimed silver in 49er FX event while two men combined to overcome disqualification in their previous race to grab a bronze. Indian  enjoyed its best result since 1982. In 1982, India won a gold in fireball, a silver in enterprise and a bronze in wind-glider. For Varsha, it was her second Asiad medal as she had won a bronze in 29er with Aishwarya Nedunchezhiyan in the 2014 edition. In the squash competition. Joshna Chinappa upstaged eight-time world champion Nicol David as the Indian women’s squash team outplayed defending champions Malaysia 2-0 to enter its second successive Asian Games final. Meanwhile, the Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik has announced a Rs 1 CR prize for the Silver medal winning players from the state. The players are Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Eka, Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *