Big Win For Mamata Banerjee, Beats BJP’s Priyanka By More Than 58,000 Votes

MAMATA Banerjee has won landslide victory from home turf South Kolkata’s  Bhabanipur assembly constituency by  58,832 votes to remain Chief Minister of West Bengal for another 5 years. She has broken her own record in the 2011 by-polls to become the first lady CM of India’s eastern state after ending 34 years of the uninterrupted Marxist regime. In the April-May assembly elections, she lost to her ex-confidante Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram. A beaming Mamata says “Since the elections started in Bengal, Central Govt hatched conspiracies to remove us (from power). I was hurt in my feet so that I don’t contest the polls. I am grateful to the public for voting for us & to ECI for conducting polls within 6 months .”  BJP candidate  Priyanka Tibrewal, a lawyer turned politician, says “I am ‘Man of the Match’ of this game because I contested the election in Mamata Banerjee’s stronghold and got more than 25,000 votes. I will continue doing the hard work’’. It may be recalled that The Bhabanipur assembly constituency formed in 2011 after delimitation, has been a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) since its inception. The by-poll was caused due to the resignation of Sovandeb Chattopadhyay in favour of Mamata Banerjee who was required to retain chief ministership within six months since swearing-in. According to the Election Commission of India, Mamata Banerjee bagged 84,709 votes while Priyanka Tibrewal pocketed 26,320. CPI-M leader Srijib Biswas got 4,201 votes. Edited by PKC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.