LS Poll 1st Phase Concludes: 2 Persons Killed In Clash In AP

THE first phase  of polling  for constituting the 17th  Lok Sabha involving  14 crore voters  out of 90  crore and four state legislative assemblies  concluded  on Thursday,  April 11, barring some technical  glitches of  EVMS  and supporters of rival parties clashing  in several  polling  booths. One  ruling TDP  leader  killed in  a clash  with    Opposition  YSRCP  activists   in Andhra Pradesh’s  Ananatpur.The first phase of Lok Sabha elections covered 91 Parliamentary constituencies spreading  over 18 states and Union Territories of Andaman  & Nicobar Islands  and  Lakshadweep . Simultaneously, voting was also conducted for assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and for 28 of 147 assembly seats in Odisha. It is the first Lok Sabha and assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh since the undivided southern Telegu speaking state has been split into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Election Commission of India is considering re-polls in the booths where polling was vitiated. In some constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, activists of ruling TDP and the main opposition YSRCP were engaged in brawls impacting polling.   The voting time in most of the constituencies was from 7 AM IST to 6 PM IST. However, in Left-Wing extremism-affected areas and North Eastern States, the timings vary. Voting was held in all parliamentary constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep and Uttarakhand. Polling was also held for some constituencies of Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.In Meghalaya, voting for two Lok Sabha constituencies and by-poll to Selsella Assembly constituency was held. Voting process was completed in Andhra Pradesh (25 seats), Telangana (17 seats), Uttarakhand (5 seats), Arunachal Pradesh (2 seats), Meghalaya (2 seats), Nagaland (1 seat), Sikkim (1 seat), Mizoram (1 seat), Andaman and Nicobar Islands (1 seat) and Lakshadweep (1 seat). Other states which also went to polls are Uttar Pradesh (8/80 seats), Maharashtra (7/48 seats), Assam (5/14 seats), Bihar (4/40 seats), Odisha (4/21 seats), West Bengal (2/42 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (2/6 seats), Tripura (1/2 seats) and Manipur (1/2 seats) and Chhattisgarh (1/11 seats). Some of the key constituencies in the first phase of elections are Ghaziabad, Baghpat and Gautam Buddha Nagar in Uttar Pradesh, Nagpur and Chandrapur in Maharashtra, Tura in Meghalaya, Kaliabor and Dibrugarh in Assam, Arunachal West in Arunachal Pradesh, Gaya and Jamui in Bihar, Kalahandi and Koraput in Odisha, Hyderabad, Nizamabad and Nalgonda in Telangana, Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir, Bastar in Chhattisgarh, Cooch Behar in West Bengal, Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar and Garhwal in Uttarakhand and Visakhapatnam, Kurnool and Vizianagaram in Andhra Pradesh. Several prominent candidates are in the fray in the first phase of elections – Nitin Gadkari, Mahesh Sharma, VK Singh, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Daggubati Purandeswari, Chirag Paswan, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Harish Rawat, Nana Patole, Asaduddin Owaisi, Renuka Choudhary, Kalvakuntla Kavitha, Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, Gaurav Gogoi, Muhammad Akbar Lone, Kiren Rijiju and Ashok Gajapathi Raju. Voting across India will be completed in seven phases on May 19 results will be out on May 23. seven phases are  April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.There  was appreciable turnout of voters in Jammu & Kashmir  defying  poll  boycott  called  by  separatists  and  Maoists  in   Chhattisgarh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *