Mamata & Two Others Take Oath As MLAs

West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar administered the oath to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and two others on Thursday, October 7, 2021. They have won the recent elections as members of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly. Earlier, Governor  Dhankhar had notified ‘’Invoking powers vested in me under Article 188 of the Constitution, I direct the oath/ affirmation to the elected members to the WBLA viz, Mamata Banerjee ( 159- Bhabanipur), Jakir Hossain ( 58- Jangipur) and Amirul Islam ( 56 – Samserganj) shall be administered by the undersigned at the premises of the West Bengal Assembly on 7 October 2021 at 2 p.m”. All three members belong to the ruling Trinamool Congress. Opposition BJP MLAs did not attend the oath-taking ceremony. The constituencies went to polling on the 30th of September. After being sworn in, Mamata can remain CM  for the next five years or the next assembly elections in the state. She had contested the  April-May Assembly polls from Nandigram and lost to sitting  MLA  Suvendu Adhikar who contested as  BJP nominee. Banerjee needed to become a legislator by November 4 to continue in office as the chief minister. It is her third successive term as CM since she came to power in 2011 trouncing the Marxist regime marred in corruption and maladministration. Dhankhar had also administered the oath of office to Banerjee as CM  on May 5 at Raj Bhavan. Edited by PK Chakravarty. Picture courtesy :ANI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.