STALIN Unanimously Elected DMK President: DMK Demands Bharat Ratna Award To Karunanidhi

M K Stalin is now officially   recognised as the  chief of the DMK  after his election  on Tuesday .He will  head the  organisation  after the demise  of M Karunanidhi on August 7 after prolonged  illness aged 94 in a Chennai hospital .During his  illness, Stalin, 65,Karunanidhi’s second  son,  was functioning  as working  President .  After years of being second in command, the leader now holds reins of the party. Stalin’s elevation comes at a time when Tamil Nadu is witnessing a political churn, following the death of J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi. With the 2019 Lok Sabha elections around the corner and two significant by polls coming up, Stalin has an arduous task ahead. His elder brother M K Alagiri, who has been sidelined and shunted out of Chennai, has warned of consequences if he not readmitted in the party posing a challenge to Stalin. Duraimurugan, party’s Principal Secretary, has taken over the position of treasurer. Stalin is the third president of the party, after C N Annadurai and M Karunanidhi. The post was held by Karunanidhi for about 9 years Karunanidhi was former Chief Minister of  the  Southern state.DMK General Secretary K.Anbazhagan said that 1,307 party officials seconded Stalin’s candidature. Senior leader Duraimurugan was also elected unopposed as the party’s Treasurer. The General Council, before announcing the news, condoled the deaths of Karunanidhi, former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, former UN General Secretary Kofi Annan, party cadres who die of   shock after hearing of Karunanidhi’s death, the anti-Sterlite copper smelter plant protesters who were killed in the police firing in Tuticorin in May and also the victims of the floods in Kerala. The DMK’s General Council meeting attended by about 4,000 members has now passed a resolution urging the Centre to confer Bharat Ratna to M Karunanidhi. The party has also decided against creating a post of DMK chairperson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.