TDP Moving Non-Confidence Motion Against Modi Govt After Quitting NDA

No-Confidence Motions  tried to be moved by the Andhra Pradesh’s ruling  Telegu Desam Party and the YSRCP could not be taken up in the Lok Sabha on Friday  by Speaker  Sumitra Mahajan due to pandemonium. She adjourned the House till Monday saying she could not ascertain which motion is supported by at least 50 Members as per the Constitution in the din. The Motions will be taken up on Monday .Earlier, TDP headed by Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had announced to move trust motion against the BJP led NDA Government after breaking away from the alliance for denying the southern State Special status after bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh on June 2, 2014 for the creation of Telangana as a separate state by an act of parliament. His party along with other political groupings such as YSR Congress Parry are insisting on the demand  despite it was pointed out to them by the NDA Government that as per the recommendation of the Finance Commission such a status cannot be given. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has however assured Andhra Pradesh that financial and other assistance equivalent to special status will be given to Andhra Pradesh.  The decision to walkout of the NDA was taken by Naidu in a teleconference and was unanimously passed by party politburo held at state’s capital Amravati on Thursday. Naidu told MPs to coordinate with other like-minded opposition parties to get support to the no-confidence motion. Naidu said “We are Confident that we have the numbers”. Naidu has mailed a detailed letter to BJP president Amit Shah detailing the reasons behind snapping ties. He has mentioned how the central government has “misled the people of Andhra Pradesh by not giving special status… then they promised a special package which too was not implemented”. The party had earlier on Thursday extended support to the YSR Congress Party’s no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government in Parliament on Friday.TDP leader Thota Narasimham moved a no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha on Friday. “We go according to principles. Our leader felt being part of NDA and moving a no-confidence motion would not be ethical. So we withdrew from the NDA and I issued a letter on no-confidence motion to the Speaker at 9.30 am,” Narasimham. He is TDP’s floor leader in the Lok Sabha. He told media persons that letters would go out to BJP leaders about the party’s decision to exit the alliance. His colleague CM Ramesh said that YSR Congress MP Vijaysai Reddy was seen making attempts to meet the Prime Minister and this hinted at a nexus between the two parties.“We have no confidence in their no-confidence motion, so we have decided to go on our own,” he said. “If it is not taken due to lack of time on Friday, on Monday we will get signatures from 54 MPs from various other parties and push for a no-confidence motion vigorously,” Ramesh said. Eight political parties including TMC, Congress, Left parties and RJD have so far declared to support the no-confidence motion .Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and neighbouring Telangana will be currently held with Lok Sabha poll early next year. The BJP alone has 274 members in the Lok Sabha .It hopes to be supported by other parties to win the no-confidence motion, if it is accepted. Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) part of NDA, said the Congress has created the situation.BJP Spokesman said it is TDP’s ploy for the assembly poll. (image courtesy The Deccan Chronicle)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.