NO flights to Kolkata from 6 cities from July 6 till July 19

aircraft, flights, airlines, airport, coronavirus

Kolkata airport officially called Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport has banned flights from Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Pune, Ahmedabad, and Nagpur from July 6 till July 19 or until further orders in view of COVID-19 pandemic. “It is informed that no flights shall operate to Kolkata from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai & Ahmedabad from 6th to 19th July 2020 or till further order whichever is earlier. Inconvenience caused is regretted,” state-run Kolkata airport wrote on Twitter. Chief Secretary of West Bengal, Rajiv Sinha had written a letter on June 30 to Pradeep Singh Kharola, secretary, civil aviation ministry, on the suspension of flights. Sinha had said the state has decided to curtail flights as the state is witnessing a high number of cases and many cases have been reported among people who have arrived from different states. Sinha had requested banning flights from Indore in Madhya Pradesh and Surat in Gujarat also. The state had also requested the Centre to allow airlines to operate one flight per week per route for all other cities between July 6 and July 31 but it remains to be seen whether any decision has been made on this request. Domestic flights resumed in the country from May 25 after being suspended for two months due to the ongoing nationwide lockdown necessitated to contain the spread of COVID-19. Scheduled international passenger flights to and from India, however, remain suspended. As wished by the Mamata Government, Indian Civil Aviation  Ministry resumed flights in Kolkata from May 30 and in Bagdogra in North Bengal from May 28.WB Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had written to the  Central government saying  “Just because there has been a disaster like Cyclone Amphan, we will make this appeal,” she said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *